Where were you on May 1, 2011?

by Gina

In 12.623 years from now, someone, somewhere is going to ask me that question. This is what I will say:

Out of sheer laziness, I (and subsequently Boy/Girl Spawn) skipped church.

The three of us went out to eat at Winsteads, leaving the house at 11am and arriving at the restaurant at approximately 11:07am. Girl Spawn had a hot dog with ketchup, mustard on the side, fries, and Sprite. Boy Spawn had chicken fingers, onion rings, no sauces of any kind for either – not even ketchup (yep, choked ’em down dry), and Sprite. I had a double Winstead with cheese, ketchup, mustard, and bacon, onion rings on the side, and a Coke. When we left, we got shakes to go. Girl Spawn and Boy Spawn requested chocolate and vanilla respectively (despite the offer of more fun flavors). I ordered butterscotch. They both wanted to know if there was really scotch in it… Nope. Then they both wanted to know if there was really butter in it.

From there, we went directly to Wal-Mart (shudder) to get an inexpensive pair of eyeglasses for Boy Spawn because I was paying out-of-pocket and needed the discount.

We went home. They played with the neighborhood kids for a while.

At 3:15, we left for Girl Spawn’s hair appointment. Her hair was insanely long, and – being 4 years old – was insanely hard to brush each morning (and, basically, hard to brush any time she moved).

We arrived home at about 4:30, had a boring old dinner, they went to bed after watching Toy Story 3.

I made a quick trip to the grocery store, came home, watched last nights episode of Dr. Who, and at (approximately) 10:10pm, the show ended, and Facebook told me “the news.”

Text frenzy ensued (both with people who love Dr. Who as much as I do, and with people wanting to discuss the news)

During the President’s speech, I was standing next to Ex Husband in his bedroom watching on his computer.

Within seconds after the president stopped speaking, Girl Spawn woke up to go to the bathroom. I told her that in 10 years, she’d know how important this day is. It fell on deaf ears. She was on a mission to pee. She went back to bed.

And now I’m here; blogging.

Leave a comment